Our Founding Team

We are a group of scientists who believe that Science Matters in Georgia. We believe that science is the answer to some of the biggest problems facing Georgia and our world. But to be effective, we have to be able to break down barriers and explain science to our neighbors. We have to give people opportunities to explore science in ways that engage them. And we need to expand the influence of the scientific community.

President / BOD

A graduate of the University of Texas with a degree in Electrical Engineering. His past experience includes systems engineering in both the private sector and in civil service with the U.S. Air Force. He is currently a Software Design Engineer at SAP engaged in services innovation and data science projects. He helped found Science for Georgia to improve awareness of the historic improvements in quality of life driven by evidence-based policy, to highlight where policy makers have fallen short, and to create discussions around what we can do right now to implement better evidence-based policy.

Vice President / BOD

Amy is a biomedical engineer, with a PhD in radiation physics. Amy has had a passion for science education and outreach her entire career, from building summer STEM camps at Duke and organizing outreach for WIE Atlanta and ACSF Perth. She has been a AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow, deputy chief scientist and big data branch head at Georgia Tech Research Institute, and product manager at several Atlanta start-ups.

Secretary / BOD

Brandy graduated from Emory University with a PhD in Genetics and Molecular Biology. She is a postdoctoral research fellow at Emory University where she studies intestinal immunity. She is passionate about science communication and helping to take technology from the research lab to the clinic where they can best help people. She helped found Science for Georgia with the hope of encouraging communication between scientists and policy makers because policy built on unbiased evidence is the foundation of effective change that is in the public interest.

Assistant Secretary / BOD

Priya has a Master of Public Health degree in Environmental Health and currently manages an analytical chemistry laboratory at Emory University, developing methods and assessing human exposures to commonly used chemicals. Her professional interests lie in diminishing health disparities and environmental exposures, particularly to developmental and reproductive toxicants. She chose to join Science for Georgia because science is fundamental to our success and survival on this planet. We must advocate for evidence-based decision making and show the world that science is an essential part of our daily lives and benefits all of us, regardless of affiliation or background.

Catherine holds a master of public health in global epidemiology from Emory University Rollins School of Public Health. She recently completed a fellowship at the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP) at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Previously, she served as a health educator with the Peace Corps in Cameroon.

Our Scientists

Coming Soon...!